King Lear

My first introduction to King Lear was at a school play. My brother, who sits beside me at the Barbican this evening, took the lead role in an abridged version of the play, aged 7, in a regal red fluffy dressing gown that lingered in our house for a good few years. “I don’t remember your mad scenes”, I say to him before the play starts, “I had to sing…” he replies in a muted tone. Suffice to say this production is a little different.

This article was first published on The Arbuturian. For the full article please click here.

Leave a Reply

